Early Voting April 22 - April 30 | Election Day Saturday, May 4


Meet Tobi

Tobi Jackson is a parent, educator, and administrator. A lifelong resident of East Fort Worth, she attended Eastern Hills Elementary, Meadowbrook Middle School, and proudly graduated in 1978 from Eastern Hills High School. This FWISD education prepared her for a successful transition into college, where she received a B.A. from the University of Texas at Arlington and an M.S. from the University of North Texas. Tobi and her husband Bruce have two children, Alexis and Zoie, ages 19 and 15. Alexis is a 2018 graduate of FWISD and a freshman at Texas Wesleyan University with plans to become a physician. Zoie is a freshman at the I.M. Terrell VPA/STEM Academy of FWISD.

Public service and volunteerism are core components of the Jackson Family. Tobi's husband Bruce served as General Contractor of HOPE FARM and has an extensive history with Habitat for Humanity, directing the Arlington Rangers Ballpark Build for nearly a decade. Their daughters are the youngest members of the City of Fort Worth Adopt a Park Program. As lifelong stewards of Eastern Hills Park, they initiated the adoption in 2012. This wasn't the girls' first foray into community service, as at the ages of four and eight, they worked to develop a program with Mission Arlington entitled, "Shoes to Share." This group fulfilled Mission Arlington founder, Tillie Burgin's, greatest need, shoes. The "Shoes to Share" program provided Mission Arlington with over 1,000 shoes collected within an eight month time period. The program is still unprecedented.

Her professional experience in education has been as both an administrator and faculty member in public, private, and corporate arenas. Coupled with over three decades of community service in Tarrant County, Tobi’s focus is firmly planted in sustainable, outcomes-driven efforts on behalf of Fort Worth youth.

Tobi’s area of interest is social/emotional growth, equitably delivered to ALL students—addressing on-time attendance, graduation rates, and reducing the number of over age/under credit students.


Awards & Service

  • The Center for Public Policy and Priorities Board Appointment - November 2018
  • Amiga Award - The United Hispanic Council (UHC) - October 2018
  • Southside Youth Association "Good Samaritan Award" - October 2018
  • Texas Assoc. of Teacher Educators "Quest for Quality Award" A Collaboration:  Texas Wesleyan Univ., FWISD and SPARC
  • CUBE - 2018 Award for Urban Excellence to the FWISD Board of Trustees - September 2018
  • The 400: Fort Worth's Most Influential People - FW INC. Magazine - August 2018
  • Tarrant County Business Press - "Health Care Hero Award" for Asthma 411 - February 2018
  • East Fort Worth Business Association - Outstanding Service Award - December 2017
  • Shining Star Award - The Sunshyne Network - June 2016
  • Award for Continuing Innovation in Continuing Professional Education Development - Asthma 411 - May 2016
  • Poly High School Advanced Academics and Innovative Learning Award - May 2015
  • EHHS Distinguished Alumnus Award  - 2014
  • New Lives Service Award - April 2014
  • EFWBA Oustanding Elected Official - November 2013
  • FWISD Wall of Fame 2011
  • America’s Promise “Red Wagon Award” 2008
  • Roche Special Achievement Award 2000 (Leadership Team Awarded)
  • Mead Johnson “Rookie of the Year” 1989 (Regionally Awarded)
  • TAPS State Track and Field Coach of the Year 1986 (Peer Awarded)

Community Boards Current:

  • Tarrant County Cultural Facilities Finance Corporation -  Board Member - March 2015 - present
  • East Fort Worth Business Association Board of Directors  January  2012 - January 2017
  • VEL (Vision East Lancaster) Board Member April 2013 - Current

Community Organization Memberships:

  • Eastern Hills High School Alumni Association/Inagural Member 2011 to current
  • Lions Club - March 2018 to current
  • Poly Alumni Association 2016 to current
  • East Fort Worth Optimist 2012 to current
  • Womens Policy Forum Member 2012 to 2017
  • East Fort Worth Business Association - 2011 to current
  • East Fort Worth Rotary 2016 to current
  • Eastern Hills Homeowners Association Member 1986 to current

Community Board Service Past:

  • 2014 BASH Steering Committee American Red Cross October 2014
  • Texas IGNITE State Council Member April 2014-April 2015
  • SPARC Inaugural Board - Mayoral appointment January 2013 - October 2015
  • Paul Quinn College Inaugural Member Enrollment Management Advisory Board December 2012
  • Tarrant County Community Justice Council  - January 2011-2015
  • CRSS (Center for Reform of School Systems) Fellow -  2010 - Current
  • The Oakridge School – Steering Committee 2010 to 2015   Focus:  Academic and Athletic Development
  • Log Cabin Village Park Board Liaison– 2009-2010
  • Van Zandt Cottage Park Board Liaison – 2009-2010
  • Friends of the Herd Park Board Liaison – 2008-2009
  • Arlington Alliance Volunteer Program Award for SHOES TO SHARE  2008
  • Mayfest Park Board Liaison – 2007-2008
  • City of Fort Worth Parks and Community Services Advisory Board (City Council Appointed 2006-2010)
  • St. Alban’s Episcopal School Executive Committee Board of Trustees  2006-2007
  • Co-Founder of “Shoes to Share” joint project with Mission Arlington 2006-2008
  • Fort Worth Public Art Voting Member 2005
  • St. Alban’s Episcopal School – Founding Member and Chair of Grant Committee- 2005 – 2007
  • Harris Methodist Hospital Health Exchange Executive Committee 2003-2004
  • Harris Methodist Hospital Health Exchange Board 2001-2004
  • The Warm Place- Fort Worth-Secured multiple donations thru Bristol Myers-Squibb 1996
  • American Heart Association- State Task Force – Jump Rope for Heart 1983
  • American Heart Association – Tarrant Northeast Board  1983

FWISD Board Committees/Officer Positions:

  • FWISD Board President 2017 - present
  • FWISD Facilities Master Planning Committee 2016 - 2017
  • FWISD Athletic Committee Co-Chair January 2014 - Current
  • FWISD Oil and Gas Committee Chair April 2011 - Current
  • Served as FWISD 1st Vice President, 2nd Vice President and Secretary
  • Superintendent Evaluation Committee Member 2014,2015,2016, 2017